Dart Valley Stompers New Orleans and Traditional Jazz


About the Band
Your Function
Listen
Sample Play List
Diary
What People Say
Buy CDs
Photo Gallery
Contact
Links
Newsletter
M & J Promotions

THE DART VALLEY STOMPERS


  What People Say What People Say about the Dart Valley Stompers
STOP PRESS! - M & J PROMOTIONS JAZZ WEEKENDS IN 2018!
LATEST ADDITION! - September 2018 Jazz Weekend. Also join us for jazz breaks in Jan 2018 or April 2018 and in March 2018 for a Jump Jive and Swing Special Weekend. All events at the fabulous Redcliffe Hotel, Paignton. See full details of all FOUR events

Theydon Bois Jazz Club, Tuesday 1st August 2017

Dear Jeremy Huggett,

I’m so pleased the Dart Valley Stompers were finally able to make it to the Theydon Jazz Club yesterday. You certainly didn’t disappoint. It was a terrific evening that I’m sure all our members thoroughly enjoyed. I’ve never heard a punchier, more uplifting My Blue Heaven or Canal Street Blues. Ironic that my wife and dancing partner was attending an art course in Devon when Devon was providing such wonderfully danceable music in Thornwood!

I managed to get a few pictures for our website (although I couldn’t get individual shots of Keith Tolley or Chris Stockings).

With thanks for a fine session and best wishes,

Ray Crick




















Back to top


Exeter Craft Fair, Cathedral Green, Exeter, Thursday 6th to Saturday 8th July 2017

Hi Maria,

Please can you give a big thank you to all the Stompers for their great contribution to the Craft Festival as usual....especially as the weather was so hot! We had some good comments from both the general public and the stall holders. They always make it fun. Thanks too, once again for your help with a new Punch and Judy Man.....he too was great. With thanks for your help.

Best wishes,

Madeleine

Back to top


Jazzamatazz Jazz Club Coventry, 2nd July 2017

I enjoyed your music today at Coventry. Here are some pics which I have posted on Facebook.I am not a photographer but if any pics meet your needs please feel free to use them.

Regards,

Terry Thomas











































Back to top


Looe Jazz Club, 8th April 2017

Last month when Looe Jazz Club was entertained by the Sussex Jazz Kings, we thought we would never ever have another gig like it, but last night, the Dart Valley Stompers surpassed them and in our view were outstanding.

All members of the band are wonderful and talented Musicians of the highest quality. But i would just like to single out Graham Smith who as per normal as his outstanding self, and to drive all the way down from the Midlands as well was very much appreciated. I would also like to thank Doreen De-Witt whose voice and Banjo Playing was a revelation, plus she was much better to look at rather than Graham Travarton. Lol.

So would you kindly give my sincere thanks to all involved for a truly wonderful evening. All these wonderful Jazz nights we have are due to the efforts of Mike and Eileen who work very hard on our behalf. Thank you.

Regards,

Sid Anning - gig organiser.



Back to top


Kingsbridge Jazz club, 10th January 2017

Hello Jeremy,

Very many thanks for getting our jazz club of to an exceedingly successful start.

It was a stonking, foot tapping, finger snapping, hand clapping, head nodding, way out performance which was enjoyed by us all. The music was great, the humour was a welcome bonus and the added sign of success was to see the audience joining singalongť songs. Audience participation always lifts the spirits.

Thanks to you and the rest of your stompers for helping to help our club to be a continued success. Please pass on my thanks to the rest of the talented guys in the orchestra. We'll be in touch shortly to arrange your next visit.

Very best wishes,

Bob - & all at Kingsbridge Jazz Club.

P.S. Thanks also to Maria for her advice and organisation.

Back to top


Wedding for Jessica Fear at Horsham, Wiltshire on 30th July 2016

Good morning Maria,

Thank you so much to the Dart Valley Stompers for providing the absolute highlight to our wedding on July 30th in Horsham, Wiltshire. It was an absolute delight and had people talking for weeks about it afterwards!

We’ve just had the professional photographs through, which I thought you might like for your website if the guys wanted to promote future DVS wedding performances, or simply for your own enjoyment.

A thousand "thank yous" to the guys for their performance and cooperation; I really couldn’t recommend them highly enough.

All the best for the future!

Jessica

Back to top


Wedding at Buckland House, Filleigh on 28th May 2016

Dear Maria,

Just a quick thank you to all of the band for a fantastic day at Buckland House last Saturday. The day exceeded all our expectations and everyone absolutely loved the band-they really did make the day and all were absolute stars! I hope they also enjoyed the day.

Once again many thanks to the band and also for all your help over the past few months. I will look forward to seeing the band during one of their up and coming gigs!

Richard and Kerry xx

Back to top


Colchester Jazz Club, April 2015

Hi Jeremy,

Thanks for a good evening, at Colchester Jazz Club. Hope you all had a good journey back home I’ve now updated our web site with the latest photo of the band.
Regards,
Brian

Brian Grundy (Membership sec)

Back to top


Kingsbridge Jazz Club, 3rd February 2015

The Dart Valley Stompers served up a February Feast of the Finest jazz at The Fisherman’s that anyone could wish for. Their opening number, “At the Jazz Band Ball” literally took the audience by storm, instantly getting hearts pumping, feet stomping, bodies jigging and broad smiles bursting; all reflecting instant appreciation and the eager anticipation of a great menu of lively and exciting traditional and New Orleans numbers.

Band leader Jeremy Huggett served up a superb selection of masterful musical improvisation on the wildly whimsical sensational singing soprano sax, the rich rhythmical resonant clarinet and the deep dynamic dancing tenor sax. Graham Trevarton on trumpet, gave us a master class of musical mimicry where he complemented perfectly many of the phrases in Jeremy’s reed playing. In some of the numbers his brilliant, varied and masterful mute created a talking trumpet which ‘sang’ rhythms like ‘wack-a-do, wack-a-do, wack-a-do’ and many others. Ron Milford gave us a wonderful and varied range of deep rich velvety vibrations from his sonorous trombone, and completed a superb front line of brass and reeds.

The rhythm section was driven by the dancing digits and plucking fingers of Tony Mann on his deep throbbing bass, the fret flying fingers and strumming plectrum of Eddy Edwards on banjo and drummer Dave Caws with his foot stomping rhythms, flying drumsticks, subtle but attention grabbing rim-shot and sensitive brush work.

Ron, Jeremy and Graham all treated us to solo vocals where the diction was clear and the melody strong. “Travel on to Avalon” and “Shine” by Ron, and “When my Dreamboat comes Home” and “I’d do Anything for you” by Graham were particularly memorable for me. The inclusion, by special request, of a brilliantly delivered blues ’rock ’n roll’ number, “Kansas City” gave unexpected extra variety to a very well balanced programme which was delivered with good pace; and the good natured banter amongst the band was infectious, engaging and perfectly complemented their virtuoso musical performance. An a-ma-zing evening.

Chris Weaving

Back to top


Kingsbridge Jazz Club, 3rd February 2015

Hello Jeremy,

Very many thanks for a fabulous night of all round, first class entertainment. It's great to have a group of talented musicians playing such a wonderful programme of great jazz, played with incredible energy and dedication.

The smattering of humour in between numbers added to the entertainment and the attention and applause given by the audience spoke volumes. At the end of the night I was asked umpteen times "when are they coming again"? The evening passed all too quickly.

Please thanks all the guys for us and I hope you had a good journey home. I look forward to us meeting up again soon. Thanks again and best wishes from all at Kingsbridge Jazz Club.

Cheers,
Bob.

Back to top


Wrasbury Jazz Club October 2014

GREAT EVENING WITH JEREMY & DART VALLEY
Jeremy Huggett and his Dart Valley Stompers played for us in October and we had a very enjoyable time. They are all excellent musicians and, pleasingly, good singers. I enjoyed many of the numbers they played including ‘Black & Blue’, ‘Deed I do’, ‘Streets of the City’ & ‘Ain’t misbehaving’. There was a trio of voices from Ron, Graham & Jeremy with ‘Happy days and lonely nights’. We were urged to join in with ‘Down by the Riverside’ which of course we did. They finished with their usual ‘Please don’t talk about me when I’ve gone’.

From their reaction I am sure the audience thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Back to top


Wedding, Prussia Cove near Penzance, 1st June 2014

It was a pleasure to have the Dart Valley Stompers to play at our Wedding, we went for the 5 piece option and they set the perfect tone for our garden drinks reception with their trad jazz. The band were extremely flexible with what they would play and where (even agreeing to 'hide' so as to be a surprise for the Bride) and taking our request to play the walking out music for our ceremony.

I would certainly recommend the Dart Valley Stompers to anyone looking to add the magic of live music to their Wedding.

Many Thanks,
John Syson

Back to top



80th Birthday party, Brixham - 22nd March 2014

Many thanks for helping me in such a great way to celebrate my 80th birthday at Brixham Cricket Club last Saturday. Everyone that attended which were 90-100 people enjoyed the stompers so much which made the party swing! Hope to see you all soon.

John Charles

Back to top


Colchester Jazz Club, 13th October 2013 - celebrating the club's 57th Birthday!

Thanks for a super evening, on Sunday. It was a great way to celebrate our 57th Anniversary. This isn’t all the photos, but hope you like them.

Regards,
Brian
Brian Grundy, Membership secretary

Dart Valley Stompers at Colchester Jazz Club

Dart Valley Stompers at Colchester Jazz Club

Dart Valley Stompers at Colchester Jazz Club

Dart Valley Stompers at Colchester Jazz Club

Back to top



Lustleigh Show, 26th August 2013

Dear Maria,

Please convey our thanks to the band for their wonderful and much appreciated contribution to our show. The show wouldn't be the same without them, and I hope they enjoyed the day as much as we did. Could we book you again for next year's show, on Monday 25 August? If so, please could you also let me have a note of the fee you will require.

Best wishes,

Carol Lucas
Secretary, Lustleigh Show

Back to top



Webbington Ball organised by BD Jazz Club, 10th August 2013

Hi All,

Just a quickie to say how much we enjoyed the Burnham Ball last Saturday. I hope the video I shot will be OK when edited and will send you a copy in due course. When you get time to watch it you might enjoy "Les Employees de Jazz" on the DVD I gave you.

Best wishes,

Norman Rushworth

Back to top



Rotary Picnic, 6th July 2013

Hi Maria,

Thank you very much indeed for getting the band organized for the Rotary Picnic last night. People are saying it was the best one yet and they enjoyed Dart Valley Stompers who played really well. Here are some photos for your archives.

Kindest regards,

Viv

Dart Valley Stompers at Rotary Picnic, July 2013

Dart Valley Stompers at Rotary Picnic, July 2013


Back to top



Private Party - Nr Newton Abbot, Saturday 25th May 2013

Hi Maria & Jeremy,

Just a quick email to thank you and the other band members for an afternoon of great music on saturday. The whole afternoon was a great success and your playing definitely added to this. Thankfully, the weather was on our side. Plan B was everyone in our lounge and your band in the dining room - wouldn't have had quite the same effect somehow!! We shall be doing our usual annual pilgrimage to Manaton Show later this year and will pop by and say hi.

Many thanks once again.

Vicky Housego


Back to top



Wedding - Taunton 2nd March 2013

Dear Jeremy and Maria,

We're sorry it has taken us so long to get in touch, but we wanted to thank you and the rest of the Stompers so much for being such a major part of our wedding day. You exceeded our expectations and were definitely one the parts of the day that our guests enjoyed the most! We always wanted our wedding to feel a little different, and thanks to you it definitely did. We really are very grateful, wish you all the best for the future and hope to hear you all playing again some time soon! Please do thank the rest of the band - and we've just been sent the attached video today, which we thought we'd send your way!

With many thanks and all best wishes,

Tim and Liz





Back to top



Wraysbury Jazz Club - 16th October 2012

LOADS OF FUN WITH DART VALLEY

Jeremy Huggett and his Dart Valley Stompers gave us a first class concert in October and a lot of laughs. They seem to have everything - excellent musicians, two very good singers and a real comic in John 'Jethro' Whitlock. I wish I could remember some of his jokes! The first couple of numbers were a bit subdued and I thought have they lost something but, as is quite usual, I was very wrong, They took off and a great evening followed.

Jeremy is very talented musician who can play many instruments (reeds, piano, tuba, drums and piano) and is also an outstanding singer. Sounds a bit greedy to me! His version of 'St Phillips Street Breakdown' was amazing and breathtaking. Certainly took his breath away. He demonstrated his piano playing with a duet with John Whitlock in an enjoyable & fun 'Four handed boogie'.

Ron Milford was the other singer and he was as pleasing as Jeremy with 'Shine', 'Alexander's Rag Time Band' and 'Dream a little Dream'. Following all that we had another singer, Graham Trevarton with his own words to 'On the back porch'. Probably the biggest laugh of the night. The concert was rounded off with 'Please don't talk about me when I'm Gone' but we certainly will.

You will be pleased to know that they are booked for December 2013. Something to look forward to.

Ray Alletson - Chairman of Wraysbury Jazz Club.



Back to top



Kingsbridge Jazz Club - Christmas Party 4th December 2012

Very many thanks for an amazing gig on Tuesday. The whole band was obviously on top form and there was a great mixture of first class music and humour. I find that interaction with the audience is of great importance and you did this well - without too much chatter. The audience was clearly enjoying themselves.

Please pass on our grateful thanks to the rest of the band. Many people as they left said that you must come back again. - So - will do!

A big thank you once again,

Bob Eley - Committee Kingsbridge Jazz Club



Back to top



Kingsbridge Jazz Club - Christmas Party 4th December 2012

We felt last evening was great, super music, good fun and plenty of lovely food. The band were great, Jeremy was amazing again on reeds, he is so entertaining and his effort so very intense. Alongside him Graham with his superb and unique 'mute' playing is always something special. Once again I jigged around all evening ... couldn't keep still and it beats going to the gym!!!!

Our friend Sonja still cannot believe that she can have such incredible entertainment in Aveton Gifford! (and she had travelled from Japan to be with us last night!!!!)

Best wishes,
Chris & Jenny



Back to top



Redcliffe Hotel, October 2012

Dear Maria,

Thanks to you and the Dart Valley Stompers for a wonderful weekend at the Redcliffe Hotel.

The choice of bands and hotel were all superb and the company was excellent. We particularly enjoyed Jeremy's flute and sax session with Simon Banks and of course the DVS were their usual brilliant, enetertaining selves in the finale.

Thanks again to everyone concerned, and we're pleased to hear that George Giles is better.

Best wishes,
Jan and Vic Newing
8th November 2012



Back to top



Warfield Park Jazz Club, 15th May 2012

Can you please pass on to all that the band last Tuesday was FANTASTIC..

They all played so well it made for a great evening.I cannot count how many times i have been stopped on the park and at Tescos to say it was the best night ever. We will of course be having you back again at a later date so keep on with your great music and sound that keeps you in front of many of the other bands.

David
Warfield Park Jazz Club



Back to top



Kingswood Y's Men's Club, Bristol, 31st March 2012

Hello Maria,

Just a quick note to thank you and the band for our charity gig at Mangotsfield School a week or so ago. The band were great and we've had some compliments on the evening.

We're thinking about next year. Are you taking bookings?

Regards,

Mike Bendrey,
Project Chairman



Back to top



The Bluebird Jazz Club, Bournemouth, 6th February 2012

What a great evening at Bluebird last night despite no trombone, great duo at front backed by a delightful rhythm section. Well done to all and look forward to seeing you again soon. "Keep well" Maria.

Our best wishes,

Irene and Lionel Green,
Christchurch, Dorset



Back to top



Bude Jazz Club, 22nd January 2012

What a Stomp!

Review of the Dart Valley Stompers gig of 22nd January

For me and a host of others, this gig saw the very best of the Dart Valley Stompers. They were truly superb and I have never seen them play better and they had the audience in raptures. From the very first number to the very last, their energy never waned and you can honestly say, What a Stomp!

They opened at breakneck speed with a wonderful rendition of Grant Rymal’s well known composition, Willie the Weeper. I have never heard it played this fast, but it certainly worked! It was obvious they couldn’t keep up that pace so things slowed up fractionally as they tackled Irving Berlin’s 1928 piece Marie featuring a vocal by trombonist Ron Milford and with Graham Trevarton playing one of his splendid mute trumpet solos.

Next they took on the Harry Warren composed One Sweet Letter From You before reedsman and bandleader Jeremy Huggett took on the vocal duties singing the Walter Hirsch lyrics to Fred Rose’s ’Deed I Do. The next number is normally played towards the end of a performance by the Dart, but this time it was an early show for Graham’s party piece Last Night on the Back Porch and he had added a couple of new verses since I last saw him perform it. It was then time for Jeremy to shine wonderfully playing soprano on the famous W.C. Handy composition St Louis Blues before Ron returned with the vocal on Nat Reed’s Miss Jenny’s Ball. The last number for the set featured a vocal by Graham as they played Alex Hill’s I Would do Anything for You.

The second set kicked off (or should have kicked off) with a brolly parade to the strains of Streets of the City, but there were no brollies, nary a one! That’s got to be a first. Jeremy then came back with a vocal and also playing a great tenor on a Rock’n’Roll rendition of I’m Walkin’ before Ron performed a great muted trombone and sang the vocal on Dream a Little Dream of Me during which John Whitlock played a splendid guitar solo break.

Jeremy then stood out front on his own to play Roby Mellin’s celebrated Stranger on the Shore then with Graham and Ron returning they hit out with Albert von Tilzer’s composition Roll Along Prairie Moon with Graham supplying the vocal. BJC’s treasurer Brian and his lovely wife Jenny, who were celebrating their 50th Wedding Anniversary were invited to take to the floor as the band played The Anniversary Waltz before the set closed out with another breakneck piece with Ron supplying the vocal on Clarence Williams’ immortal Cake Walkin’ Babies from Home.

The final set began with Neil Moret’s famous ragtime piece Hiawatha before John and Jeremy picked up guitar and tenor respectively once more to play Isham Jones It had to be You with Jeremy also singing the Gus Kahn lyrics. John then did a solo spot on banjo playing his own composition Helter Skelter and I am sure he plays it faster each time I hear him do it! Keeping up the fast pace but with the whole band now back on stage, they tackled the frequently recorded Dick Winfree and Phil Boutelje piece China Boy. The band then went Latin as they took on the Creole tinged Jambalaya before Ron returned with a vocal on the time-honoured Maceo Pinkard composition Sweet Georgia Brown. The boys of the Dart then signed off with their usual farewell piece, Sam Stept’s Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone.

What a performance and breathtaking to say the least. The great rhythm section of John, Tony Mann playing outstanding bass and the excellent and ageless drummer Rocket Ron Berry certainly drove the band along wonderfully. And what a trio of Jeremy, Graham and Ron Milford out front. They are certainly one of the very best bands around and what’s more, they are the South-West’s own!

See you around the gig...

Paul Mayor
Chair, Bude Jazz Club



Back to top



Wrasbury Jazz Club, 13th December 2011

A SEASONAL CONCERT FROM THE DART VALLEY STOMPERS

The Dart Valley Stompers made their second visit to our Club in December and really entered in the Christmas spririt. After, to my mind, a slow start they got going and the party started. They played great music, sang good songs and told very funny jokes - what more could you want for Christmas? For once, all the vocalists had good voices which is a pleasant change.

Graham Trevarton (trumpet) sang the best version of "last night on the back porch" you will ever hear. I just wish I had a copy of the lyrics. Other vocals included "Dream a little dream of me", "My blue heaven" & Your're nobody's sweetheart now". We had a banjo solo "Helter Skelter" Which was composed by the banjo player, John Whitlock and a great clarinet solo from Jeremy with "St Phillips Street Breakdown".

We had the opportunity to sing along with the band and joined in with "Rudoloph the red nosed reindeer", "Santa Claus is coming to town" and other numbers. They ended with "Tiger Rag" & "Please don't talk about me when I'm gone".

I hope that you all enjoyed it as much as I did and felt it was one of the best Christmas concerts we have had at Wrasbury.

Wrasbury Jazz Club



Back to top



Farnborough Jazz Club review, 2nd December 2011

Last Friday, 2nd December 2011, the ‘Dart Valley Stompers’ appeared for the first time at our Farnborough Jazz Club and as expected, they didn’t disappoint us, they were brilliant. The musicians were band leader Jeremy Huggett (reeds), Graham Trevarton (trumpet), Ron Milford (trombone), John Witlock (banjo), Bob Martin (double bass) and Ron Berry (drums).

Some of the numbers they played were Duke Ellington’s number ‘Caravan’ (m.Juan Tizol/l. Irving Mills) with a mind-blowing fantastic solo played by Jeremy, plus ‘I’m Walking’ (by Fats Waller) sung by Jeremy and ‘Dream a Little Dream for Me’ (m: Fabian Andre & Wilbur Schwardt/l. Gus Kahn) sung by Ron. Also a wonderful banjo solo played by John called ‘Helter Skelter’ (by John’s own composition) and ‘I Loved Her on the Back Porch’ (I think it was written by Kent Blazy, Kim Williams & Garth Brooks), sung by Graham (with great comical change of lyrics!). They finished the evening with ‘Tiger Rag’ (nobody knows the origin of this song, but Harry DaCosta & Edwin B. Edwards wrote a version).

What an evening, I know there were some other fantastic numbers and solos, but I was too busy dancing to jot them down! The band come from Devon and although they were down our way on tour, when they finished playing at 11.30pm, they packed up and then drove all the way back to Devon! MUSICIANS ARE AMAZING! They all travel such distances to play for our entertainment purely for love, because the money they earn is really covering expenses, sometimes out of pocket. Mind you, the same goes for us clubs, but we love it all and it helps to keep us young.

We certainly hope Dart Valley will return to Farnborough sometime next year - we shall work on that.

Keep ‘erm’ coming.

Diane & Keith



Back to top



Twins 21st Birthday Party nr. Exeter, September 2011

Dear Jeremy,

Many thanks for your great performance on Saturday afternoon. It was such fun to see the young people dancing in the afternoon. Several people said how nice it was to hear the music playing as they arrived. Please pass our thanks to the other Dart Valley Stompers.

I hope you all had enough to eat & drink – with so many guests I think I was a bit remiss at looking after your band.

With kind regards,

Gillian Girling



Back to top



New Yellow Dog Jazz Club, Eastleigh - 30th July 2011

And now a word on the Dart Valley Stompers. Just like last year we had a sell out, and again they gave us a tremendous night of high octane jazz. From the first number to the last they gave us a great evening’s entertainment. I really can’t pick out one musician who stood out from the rest. They genuinely enjoyed playing for us and we responded in kind.


Photos from New Yellow Dog Jazz Club by Roger Grier:

Dart Valley Stompers at the New Yellow Dog Jazz Club, Eastleigh, 30th July 2011



Dart Valley Stompers at the New Yellow Dog Jazz Club, Eastleigh, 30th July 2011



Dart Valley Stompers at the New Yellow Dog Jazz Club, Eastleigh, 30th July 2011



Dart Valley Stompers at the New Yellow Dog Jazz Club, Eastleigh, 30th July 2011



Dart Valley Stompers at the New Yellow Dog Jazz Club, Eastleigh, 30th July 2011



Dart Valley Stompers at the New Yellow Dog Jazz Club, Eastleigh, 30th July 2011



Back to top



Verwood Jazz Club, 21st July 2011

Jeremy,

What a fabulous time you gave us at our club 21st July, it was great to see all the smiling faces as they left. I placed the videos I took on youtube. If you disaprove of any of them let me know and I will delete.

Julie & Derek Upsall
Verwood



Back to top



Ye Olde Jolly Sailor, Teignmouth, 8th July 2011

While on holiday in Devon recently I went to Ye Olde Jolly Sailors Inn in Teignmouth with some of my family on Monday, 8th July and thoroughly enjoyed the terrific music you produced. My son and his wife hadn't been to live jazz before and you certainly made them want more in the future. I've been to quite a few jazz sessions and never enjoy all the tunes, but I definately enjoyed every one you played, and you even played a tune requested by us. Superb quality and great entertainment!

Mike Stout
Orkney Scotland



Back to top



Verwood Jazz Club, 21st July 2011

Hi Maria, Jeremy and all the Band,

What a fabulous night last night at the Verwood Jazz Club. Pru and I - and many others we spoke to - cannot remember enjoying an evening so much. The time simply whizzed by.

With so many bands these days we are looking at our watches at around ten o'clock and wondering whether we can creep out without being spotted. What an exception the Dart Valley boys are. The way you keep up the quality of the music, the excitement of the band and the repartee is remarkable bearing in mind the number of times you play. The icing on the cake for me was having two of my favourite numbers played. Thank you so much for that.

In fact, a great big thank you to you all on behalf of everyone lucky to be there last night for a truly brilliant evening. If you have any information on the Dart river trips we would be grateful if you could e-mail it to us.

With the very best regards,

Pru and Tony Macdonald



Back to top



Langstone Cliff Hotel, 2nd July 2011

Hello Maria,

My wife and I have just had a week-end at the Langstone Cliff Hotel and saw the DVS once again, we have seen them about a dozen times and every show has been an excellent one. The music is great, the atmosphere wonderful and with a few laughs thrown it made for an excellent evening. Don't ever let the fun leave the performance because this is what makes a band great, it shows the musicians are enjoying themselves.

Many thanks, keep up the good work.

Regards,

Ray Turton, Reading.



Back to top





Jazz in Dinard, Spring 2011

They came from London and Kent, they came from Bristol, Taunton, Exmouth and Bude and many other destinations in the West Country, two coach loads, sixty five in all. They were all fans of the “Dart Valley Stompers” having heard them at festivals and clubs around the country.

The event was a five day trip Dinard in Brittany, by coach and Brittany Ferries departing from Plymouth. Dinard is about two and half hours by road, East of Roscoff on the west side of the Rance Estuary opposite St Malo. The group stopped in the “Hotel Printania” built in 1890 and absolutely full of old Breton charm. The hotel was right on the water’s edge and in walking distance from the town centre and a couple of wide sandy beaches. However the main object of the weekend was the jazz, the band played for one hour each way on the ferry and three after dinner sessions in the hotel.




Many know me as not a particular fan of Trad Jazz, but on this occasion I was particularly impressed by the rhythm and energy of the band and that they played as a tight unit to give that vital ingredient of jazz, i.e. they “swung”. The front line of Jeremy Huggett on reeds, Graham Trevarton on trumpet and Ron Milford on trombone were not only masters on their respective instruments, but every one of them was superb vocalist. This alone added extra variety to the band’s performance. Drummer Ron Berry drove the band along without producing that plodding thump, thump sound so often heard from “Trad” drummers and he was ably assisted by Eddie Edwards on banjo and Tony Mann on double bass and tuba. In addition to the music there was plenty of dancing and brolly parades, with each session starting immediately after dinner and finishing at about 11.30pm.




Apart from the jazz, breakfast and a three course dinner (with wine) each day was included in the package and the excellent food was served by waitresses in traditional Breton costumes. The hotel being old, the rooms were on the small size, but had all of the usual facilities with good room service. There were tours each day to St Malo, the walled city of Dinan and the coastal resort of Cancale where you can eat almost anything that once lived in the sea, from the multitude or restaurants that lined the seafront. All in all a great experience for the “Francophile” and Trad Jazz enthusiast.

For details of Jazz Breaks in Brittany and Cantabria contact Wessex Continental Travel
Tel. 01752 846880 or visit: www.wessexcontinental.co.uk

Mike Collier
Chair of Plymouth Jazz Club



Back to top



British Airways Jazz Club, May 25th 2011

Hi Maria,

On behalf of the BA Jazz Club many thanks for providing us with a very enjoyable evening of Jazz. Once again the lads were up to their usual standard and the programme was much appreciated by everyone. We did hope Graham would perform his little dittie, maybe next time. I hope you had an uneventful trip home and that the journey was not too long. Many thanks for making the effort to visit for a one off and hopefully next time you will have further dates in the area which can be combinable.

Will be in touch in the future. Enjoy the rest of your year especially in France in October.

Best wishes

Tony



Back to top





Kingsbridge Jazz Club, 1st February 2011

Hi Jeremy,

Very many thanks for a great performance last night. It was obviously a great success. Please pass our thanks on to the rest of the guys.

Best wishes

Bob



Back to top



Warfield Park Jazz, 18th January 2011

Jeremy,

Please pass on my thanks to all the band for a great evening on Tuesday. Every time I hear your band it seems to get better. Hope to be joining you all in Normandy as so far we have 10 people wanting to come but maybe a few more.

Thanks again,

David (Warfield Park Jazz)



Back to top



Salisbury Jazz Club - 14th January 2011

Thanks again for another great evening at Salisbury JC - You ALL played your socks off! Every number so good to dance to. - Well done.

Lionel & Irene Green - Christchurch



Back to top



Cheddar Jazz Club Newsletter No.148
Hon.Sec. Richard Borley

Dear Members,
The Dart Valley Stompers

The ever popular Dart Valley Stompers, led by Jeremy Huggett, opened their performance by highlighting the musicians with a series of individual solos on “Washington and Lee Swing”. Next Graham Trevarton, on cornet, led a sparkling version of “Goin' Down To New Orleans”. Trombonist Ron Milford took the vocal on “Indiana” supported by Jeremy Huggett on clarinet. A Gospel “Just A Little While To Stay Here” had the band swinging along in fine form. A change of tempo brought on a stirring “Moose March” which featured Tony Mann on Tuba and a fine drum solo by Ron Berry. In contrast it was then the turn of the romantic as Ron Milford sang the words to “Marie”. Back to upping the tempo with a bouncy “Red Wing” with both Tony on tuba and Jeremy on clarinet vying for solo honours and “My Blue Heaven” with strong soloing by the virtuoso banjo player Eddie Edwards. And Jeremy Huggett. “Hiawatha Rag” had the band on fine rhythmic form as solos switched from musician to musician before Graham Trevartan was back with vocals on “I Would Do Anything For You”, well supported with a delightful banjo solo from Eddie Edwards.

The classic “ Wabash Blues” wended its way with the band in ensemble mode and then it was the time to introduce the classic of jazzband’s “Salutation March”, the tune presented the opportunity for a fine feature of tuba playing by Tony Mann. Jeremy Huggett took the vocals on “When My Dreamboat Comes Home” and Ron Milford was the singer for “Louis-i-an-i-a”. The band continued to build on the excitement it had created with “Golden Leaf Strut” and then tackled the W.C.Handy classic “St. Louis Blues” to receive much applause. The gospel theme returned with vocals for all on the old favourite “Lily Of The Valley” and a lovely banjo solo by Eddie Edwards. A contrast brought on “Girl Of My Dreams” to applause and then an airing for a lady with Ron Milford singing “Sweet Georgia Brown”. Time, as usual running out too quickly, and the band was into it’s final number, a rocking “Rolling Round The World” to set the seal on the evening.

December 2010



Back to top



The New Yellow Dog Jazz Club - 30th October 2010.

Dear Jeremy & Maria,

What a fantastic night you guys gave us tonight at my club. Please pass on my sincere thanks to every member of your most entertaining band and for sending the punters home very happy. Will definitely see you back at the Dog next year.

Jazzy Joe



Back to top



Pete and Jill Lay weekend, Hayling Island, 22nd - 23rd October 2010

Thank you for a great weekend at Sinah Warren Hayling Island. I think you were the best band there and you certainly went down very well. I hope you appear at future festivals. I wish you were closer to my home.

I. Tickner, Kent



Back to top



Bude Jazz Club, 10th October 2010


What a great return from the Dart Valley Stompers after their gig scheduled for earlier this year had to be cancelled after being snowed under in South Devon. This was swinging and stomping jazz at it’s best that we all come to expect from this fine band and members and guests came out in force to stomp the night away.
Led by reedsman Jeremy Huggett, the band bounced their way from go to whoa that had the dancers out in force.

They opened up with Mark Sheafe's collegiate piece Washington and Lee Swing that he wrote in honour of the Lexington based University of the same name in 1906. The first vocal of the evening came with Ron Milford singing Buddy DeSylva's composition Travel On to Avalon followed by Jeremy warbling the Henry Creamer lyrics to Turner Layton's 1918 classic and oft played After You've Gone. It was then time for Graham Trevarton to take up the microphone on Fred Coot's Whose Honey are You? Next up was Harry Godwin's My Memphis Baby followed by the Elmer Schoebel penned Nobody's Sweetheart Now, Ron returning with the vocal. Graham then led a vocal accompanied by Ron and Jeremy singing the old hymn Lily of the Valley and wrapping up the first set, the band played an old New Orleans parade piece, Roland Seitz's Salutation March during which bassist Tony Mann picked up his sousaphone to give the piece real “oomph”.

There was a change I noticed during the first set and that was Graham played trumpet on a most of the numbers, whereas it used to be his old trusty cornet that did the majority of the work.. I do like the cornet as it is a bit more “earthy” and suited to the New Orleans style, but I must admit, the trumpet is much more versatile.

Set two began with Neil Moret's 1903 ragtime piece Hiawatha before a brolly parade was called for as the band went Marching Through Georgia, an old American Civil War Song. Next up was Alex Hill's I Would Do Anything For You before Jeremy picked up the soprano sax as the band tackled W.C. Handy's immortal St Louis Blues. This was the first time I had seen him on soprano, so at the end of the evening, I asked him about it and it seems it was an old instrument that he had decided to get out of mothballs so to speak and take up playing it again. Ron then took on the vocal duties again on the fast paced Benny Davis / Harry Akst composition Baby Face during which Jeremy took up the alto sax and John Whitlock played a superb banjo solo. On the next number, Bert Down's Bye Bye Blues, John laid aside his banjo in favour of the guitar which gave the tune a real smooth and mellow feeling. Graham then took up his cornet on Harry Woods' 1935 popular When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful before the band signed off the second set with Joe Darensbourg's Louisian-i-a.

Set three began with Ron Milford singing the James Dempsey lyrics to George Mitchell's 1909 piece Ace in the Hole, then drummer Ron Berry gave us a fine drum solo (that belied his age!) on Nick LaRocca and Larry Shields Fidgety Feet. Next Ron returned with the vocal on Mitchell Parish's Louisiana Fairytale. Another brolly parade was called for to the strains of Hans Flath's Moose March, but it was only Lois who unfurled her brolly, belatedly joined by just one more halfway through!

The old spiritual Just a Closer Walk with Thee came next, performed in the old Bunk Johnson style, beginning as a dirge as if walking to the cemetery and ending swinging out as if returning. Keeping the numbers swinging, the band then played a fine rendition of Maceo Pinkard's classic 1925 composition Sweet Georgia Brown. Next up was Scott Sanders Rolling Around the World before the band signed off with a roll call of members of the band as they played Sam Stept's jaunty Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone.

Another great performance by the Dart Valley Stompers who for me are one of the best jazz bands in the country with their swinging and very danceable music. Long may they continue to do so. They’re great mate!

See you around the gigs...

Paul



Back to top



Bude Jazz Club, 10th October 2010

Hi Bob and Maggie,

What an evening the Dart Valley boys gave us, so much variety, so much fun and so much very high quality; and the shame was that Jenny missed it because of a Holbeton Players rehersal for Kiss Me Kate (1st night tonight). Jeremy Huggett's playing on the clarinet, sax and alto sax was, to say the least, exhuberant and his vocals were good too and the variety of tone and sound that Ron Milford achieved were superb. As a group, they were so relaxed and together thus enabling the whole performance to flow so naturally (proof of this were those from the audience who got up and danced) .......... they were all stars in my book. Although Jenny missed the evening she has been able to enjoy some of the music because I bought their latest CD and have been working it hard on several occasions since. Many thanks to all concerned for a great evening.

See you next time.
Best wishes

Chris



Back to top



Jazz on the Dart - 18th August 2010

Inspired by the Dart Valley Stompers at a wedding, I arranged a party of 16 family and friends on the Dart Valley Explorer for the Jazz on the Dart supper cruise. I just have to write to tell you what a wonderful evening we all had. The weather was glorious – a relief from the ups and downs of the rest of the week – with a fantastic sky as a panorama through the dining room windows and balmy on deck even after dark. The boat is just right with an excellent acoustic for the band that impressed our several jazz aficionados, just the right volume and so fresh and altogether splendid and fun when we worked ourselves up to the dance floor. Food, wine and service lovely – it all exceeded my expectations and as one guest said, a truly magical evening. Do pass on my admiration to the boat staff and band.
Thank you all so much.

Best Wishes

Ruth



Back to top



St John's Fair, Witheridge, 26th June 2010

Dear Jeremy,
On behalf of the Witheridge St John's Fair team I write a short, but very sincere note, to thank you all for your attendance in the parade and Fair on Saturday 26 June. Your participation again this year made a great contribution to the success of our St John's Fair day.
Thank you so very much.

Yours,
Gerald

Gerald Manning, Chairman
8th July 2010



Back to top



British Airways Jazz Club 26th May 2010

Hi Maria,

On behalf of the club I would like to say what a great evening we had last Wednesday. Everyone enjoyed every minute. Can you please convey our thanks to Jeremy and the boys and we appreciate your making the journey up from Cullompton. It was our biggest attendance in the last 5 years for which we thank you due mainly to your reputation which is ever growing.

In view of the enthusiasm received we are hoping we may be able to consider a booking with you next year and will let you know the possible dates after our meeting in early July. May see you and the boys later in the year. If not take care.

Hope you had a safe journey home.

Best wishes,

Tony



Back to top



Pershore Jazz Club, 31st March 2010

Hi Jeremy & Maria,

Just a quick note to thank you and the band for last night's excellent performance. Everyone enjoyed it and we hope to be able to invite you back again some time for either the club or the festival...

We always write a blog about our evenings so have a look at our website sometime when you have a moment to spare! www.pershorejazz.org.uk



Back to top



Cheddar Jazz Newsletter No.137
Hon.Sec. Richard Borley

Dear Members,
The Dart Valley Stompers

What a great audience had come to support the Club's Christmas Party and then the Stompers were off and running with the foot-tapping "Washington and Lee Swing". Trombonist Ron Milford provided the vocal refrain for "Down Amongst The Sheltering Palms" and cornetist Graham Trevarton followed leading a delightful version of "After You've Gone", only to be back as vocalist with "Old Fashioned Love". Tunes followed in quick succession "Martha", "Baby Face", the seasonal "Rudolf "of reindeer fame" and then the romantic "My Blue Heaven" to round off the set.

An up-tempo restart brought on "Down In Honky Tonk Town" which earned enthusiastic applause, Ron Milford sang the tribute to "Marie" and the band then moved into full marching order with a resounding "Moose March". Graham Trevarton re-entered the fray singing the romantic "I Would Do Anything For You" and then led the band into the rousing old time New Orleans favourite, the hard driving "Bugle Boy March". With the festive spirit percolating through the venue, "White Christmas" became a sing-a-long and Ron Milford capped the lot with a delightful version of "Louisiana Fairytale" and the band signed off with "Candy Lips".

The raffle over, the band was back with the driving "Louis-i-an-i-a" and then the Hank Williams celebration of New Orleans, "Jambalaya". "I Can't Give You Anything But Love" finally gave Jeremy Huggett the chance to take his place as a featured vocalist. Then it was with a seasonal "Winter Wonderland" a rather more down to earth "Whose Honey Are You" from Graham Travarton and then, the very full evening's entertainment coming towards the end, the band played a lovely version of the pensive "Bye, Bye Blues". But then, it was up with the tempo and off into a full and sparkling performance of "Rolling Round The World" in which the band gave its all and finished a very enjoyable evening with another sing-a-long to the strains of "Jingle Bells"...

December 2009



Back to top



Bishop Sutton Village Hall, 18th December 2009

Hello Jeremy & Maria,
A great pre-Christmas treat to see the Dart Valley Stompers at Bishop Sutton V.H. on 18th December 2009. Yet again a brilliant evening of New Orleans and traditional jazz by your outstanding band. There were a few vacant seats in the hall, clearly the reputation of the DVS had not reached the village. I expect it has now!!

When we spoke during the evening Maria mentioned that the band was very busy, we are not at all surprised, the DVS is the best band we have had the pleasure of listening to for many years. It was quite a surprise to hear Ron Berry with a vocal spot at Bishop Sutton, we enjoyed his rendition. With our best wishes to you both and for the continued success of the band during 2010 and beyond.
Warmest regards
Cyril & Sally James


Back to top


Warfield Park Jazz Club 15th December 2009

What a fantastic evening on Tuesday. We all think it was our best evening ever. Please pass on to all the band our best wishes for the Christmas season and look forward to seeing you all again.


Back to top


Dart Valley Stompers Jazz in Brittany, October 2009

Dear Maria,
Heather and I would like you to know how much we enjoyed the trip to Brittany - excellent in every way. Thank you all so much, we hope it is not too long before we meet up again, and we shall certainly support you in the future.
Keep up the good work!
Best wishes, Sincerely,
Tony Payne


Back to top


Stomping up a Storm

Review of the Dart Valley Stompers gig of 1st March 2009

We don't normally have a capacity audience on successive gigs, well we do now! The top local band The Dart Valley Stompers packed them in and in the process gave us a really top evening of jazz.

They began with a storming version of the old ODJB number At the Jazz Band Ball. This was followed by George Gershwin's Swanee with the Irving Caesar lyrics sung by trombonist Ron Milford. (Not to be confused, by the way, with Stephen Foster's famous Way Down Upon the Swannee River). Next up was Kid Valentine's Algiers Strut before Ron returned with another vocal on Abe Olman's 1915 composition Down Among the Sheltering Palms. Leader & clarinettist Jeremy Huggett them supplied the vocal on Chester Cohn's Too Busy before cornettist Graham Trevarton came to the fore with the Bert Kalmar lyrics on Bud Cooper's 1915 classic I've Been Floating Down that Old Green River. Next came a piece I had not heard before although written by a prolific composer of the twenties Joe Burke, Painting the Clouds with Sunshine. Ron then sang the Benny Davis lyrics to Harry Akst's famous Charleston era composition Baby Face before the band signed off the first set with Hoagy Carmichael's classic Georgia on my Mind which featured Jeremy with the vocal.

With the absence of Graeme and Gill, Anne and Di kindly volunteered to sell the tickets for the evening's raffle and it's good to see Anne coming to more and more gigs again as she regains her fitness. Good on yer girls!

Set two began with the oft played Down in Honky Tonk Town then Jeremy gave us the first vocal of this set on Cliff Friend's When My Dreamboat Comes Home. It was then time for the obligatory brolly parade to the strains on Roland Seitz's Salutation March from c1910. Then came Neil Moret's 1908 piece You Tell Me Your Dream, another number popular with the New Orleans parade fraternity followed by a more modern composition as recently as 1966, My Memphis Baby. Keeping up with the times was Hello Dolly with the vocal by Ron before the band signed off the second set with Kid Ory's classic Savoy Blues, Ron giving us a fine tailgate performance on trombone.

The final set began with a Frank Melrose composition from 1929, Forty and Tight which featured a fine banjo solo by John Whitlock, who performed well all evening often adding some amusing interjections between numbers. Graham gave us the vocal on Cliff Friend's and Lew Pollock's I'll Do Anything For You before it was the turn of Jeremy to sing on Henry Creamer and Turner Layton composition Way Down Yonder in New Orleans from 1922. The very melodic Bye Bye Blues is usually played in a steady tempo but the Stompers decided to slow things up considerably with great success. John laid aside his banjo in favour of his guitar and his superb gentle strumming gave the number something extra. Ron Berry showed us his prowess on drums when he did a solo on James Scott's 1914 classic Climax Rag before Ron Milford returned with another vocal on the Harry Barris composed Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams from 1931. Then it was on to the composing genius of the pioneering jazz icon Jelly Roll Morton when the boys played one of his most famous pieces, Wolverine Blues. (Not really a blues at all, Morton wanted to call it The Wolverines but was overruled by the publishers as the word Blues was in fashion!). The final number from the evening was Sam Stept's Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone, which is just what those attending the performance by the Dart Valley Stompers will be doing after this most enjoyable evening.

It was certainly a pleasure witnessing this most excellent local band, I particularly liked Graham's use of the wawa mute on many numbers as he bounced on his feet to the beat. Roll on their next visit.

See you around the gigs...
Paul



Back to top



St John's Fair, Witheridge, 2nd July 2009

Dear Jeremy,
On behalf of the Witheridge St John's Fair team I write a short, but very sincere note, to thank you all for your attendance in the parade and Fair on Saturday 27 June. Your participation again this year made a great contribution to the success of our St John's Fair day.
Thank you so very much.

Yours,
Gerald

Gerald Manning, Chairman
July 2009



Back to top



Thanks for a memorable evening 28.3.09

My first Jazz concert. First visit of Dutch Swing College about 1948 Saw George Melly age about 20 with Mick Mulligan. Yes that far back!!!

Saw you for the first time at Bournemouth Rounhouse Hotel a few weeks ago and can honestly say you have one of the best groups I have heard in so many years. My wife and I loved your evening and I so enjoyed Grahams trumpet and having a lifetimes love of Bix I was most impressed.

Many thanks for a memorable evening and hope we meet again.

Best wishes,
Jim Logan, Lowton Nr Warrington.

28th March 2009



Back to top



Thanks Re Camerton Community Village Hall 20.3.09

Hi Jeremy,

We met briefly at Camerton Community Village Hall on 20th March and I was pleased to be able to purchase three of The Dart Valley Stompers CDs. I was Chairman of the Camerton Recreation Centre Committee that was successful in providing a new Village Hall for Camerton in 1980 after 10 years of intense fund raising. Although having retired from the Committee some years ago, I so appreciate what John Allen is doing in bringing New Orleans and Traditional Jazz to our village. Sally my wife and myself together with our good friend Ray Hawkins have been present at every session since John arranged the first performance in October 2008. I look forward to tomorrow evening when Bob Reynolds Bristol Bobcats will provide the music.

We have enjoyed some wonderful New Orleans jazz each month from various bands, but the performance of The Dart Valley Stompers on 20th March was truly outstanding, by far the best band to appear at Camerton. In fact one of the best jazz bands I have ever had the pleasure to listen to. Ray was heard to enthuse that The Dart Valley Stompers were better than Chris Barber and I am inclined to agree. It is clear that the early sessions at Camerton involved John Allen in a financial loss and Sally and I have tried to help by distributing posters etc. in our area to promote the monthly gigs. Returning to The Dart Valley Stompers, what a fantastic evening of entertainment, I cannot wait to hear the band again. Jeremy, I thought your performance on clarinet was absolutely scintillating and you were ideally supported by other brilliant musicians.
Thank you for a wonderful evening.
Best wishes,
Cyril & Sally James

16th April 2009




Back to top



Cheddar Valley Jazz Club Newsletter No.124
Hon.Sec. Richard Borley

Dear Members,
The Dart Valley Stompers

The band were greeted with the seating full to capacity and with latecomers having to stand as they launched into a rousing "Swannee" to open their programme. "Going Down To New Orleans" set the scene and cornetist Graham Trevarton was in fine voice. Jeremy Huggett shone with reeds and vocals with Fat Waller's "Ain't Misbehavin'" and the band had a fine time exciting the audience with "Red Wing". Ron Milford took the stage and laid his trombone aside to sing the show stopper "Hello Dolly" before the band, with ensembles and solos set the feet tapping with a hard driving version of "Washington and Lee Swing". The romantic side came to the fore with Ron Milford singing "Fair and Square in Love" to close the set and let the audience catch it's breath.

Opening with a bouncing "Forty And Tight" the band then swung on into the tuneful "Marie" before roaring on into a hard-driving version of "Oriental Strut" which reaped great acclaim from the audience. "I Would Do Anything For You" by John Whitlock, banjoist star extraordinaire, was delightfully sung by Graham Trevarton. Ron Milford performed well with the vocals on the fine "Louisiana Fairytale" and, it seemed, in no time the band was up and running again with "Candy Lips" to finish their second set. A fine "Salutation March" had the audience applauding and was followed by the seldom heard "My Memphis Baby" before the band played the Ruby Murray hit of yesteryear "Happy Days and Lonely Nights" to the delight of the audience. "Just A Closer Walk With Thee" was the usual success with all members of the audience whilst the long time favourite "Sweet Georgia Brown" had all the members of the band in fine solo form demonstrating their musical skills. Led by Graham Trevarton, "Rolling Round The World" again had the audience applauding right through until the evening ended to the strains of "Please Don't Talk about us..."

November 2008



Back to top



Just to say 'Thanks' to you all for the Dart Valley Stompers tour in Spain. Great gigs!

Tony Caffry

November 2008



Back to top



Jeremy,

Three photos from Friday Sept 26th when you played at the 1066 Jazz Club, what a great evening...I just hope that you and the band will be back in the near future.

Regards, Terence Page.

1066 Jazz Club, Hastings, October 2008



Please see our gallery page for these and other photos



Back to top



An outstanding coup for the club - The first ever visit from the quite wonderful Jeremy Huggett (reeds) led Dart Valley Stompers - Up from Devon, this quite new band, is taking the traditional jazz world by storm and sports the stunning Graham Trevarton (Cornet), Ron Milford (Trombone) and Ron Berry (Drums).

Bournemouth Jazz Club June 2008



Back to top



The music was terrific also, supplied by one of the most popular bands around, The Dart Valley Stompers. They were led by the superb reedsman Jeremy Huggett who guested at the Fryer Barnhart gig a few weeks ago for a couple on numbers. On cornet was Graham Trevarton whose bouncing style served us all oh so well. The ripping tailgate work of Ron Milford on trombone completed the front line. Some great banjo work from John Whitlock drove the rhythm section along and Tony Mann alternating between double bass and tuba gave the band punch and finally the steady beat of stand-in drummer Roger Wells was excellent.

Click here to read full article

Bude Jazz Club June 2008



Back to top



Dear Jeremy,

On behalf of Witheridge St. John's Fair team I write a short, but very sincere note, to thank you all for your attenance in the parade and Fair on Saturday 21 June 2008. Your participation this year made a great contribution to the success of our St John's Fair day.

Thank you so very much.

Yours,

Gerald Manning
Chairman



Back to top



Dear Maria and Jeremy,

Many thanks for such a great trip to France we really enjoyed it, 10 out of 10 all the way. Please put us down for Normandy next Spring. The band just gets better each time we see them and the group of Chevaliers on the trip over was an added bonus (great fun). Please give our good wishes to Pam for a full and speedy recovery.

Best wishes,

Margaret Cowling
12th May 2008



Back to top



To say many thanks for a great evening.

Louise
Preston Conservative Club Paignton - Beer Festival Weekend
7th March 2008



Back to top



Just wanted to say a huge 'thank you' for playing at my Father's Memorial Reception at the Palace Hotel last Thursday (28th February 2008). The family had wanted the occasion to be as much of a celebration of Dad's life as was possible and you certainly helped us achieve our objective with your tremendous performance - I know he would have loved it.

The rest of the family join with me in saying how grateful we were for your contribution to the day and in wishing you all the best in the future.

Thanks again.

Best Wishes,

Sarah (Bolton)



Back to top



Dear Maria, Jeremy and the band,

Thank you so much for a fabulous evening last Thursday (17th January 2008). Everyone enjoyed it a lot and we have had loads of good feedback. They thought your band was the best we have had in the ten months of the club. See you in Norton Grange.

Janet & Geoff (Organisers of Verwood Jazz Club)



Back to top



Dear Maria,

We thought you and the band might like these small reminders (2 photo's enclosed) of what for us was a big day, made even more memorable by the stompers.

With kind regards

Claire & Tony Bodinetz

60th Birthday Party - Northam November 2007



Back to top



Hi both,

Re: Rail Ale Trail Train on 29.6.07

Just a very quick email to say that I have just received in the post some of the feedback forms from last week's music train and loads of people said they had a fab time and that the band was great...so just wanted to pass that on and to say thanks!

Best wishes

Rebecca

Rebecca Catterall
Development Officer
Devon and Cornwall Rail Partnership
01752 233094



Back to top



BUDE JAZZ CLUB 2007

Review by Paul Mayor


On a wet and windy night, I battled along sodden pathways to the Falcon determined not to miss this performance by the Dart Valley Stompers. Due to me being a wee bit crook when they first appeared at our club last July, I missed seeing them and have been regretting it ever since as all those who did attend gave the band great wraps. So rather damp I sat down to hopefully witness a superb performance.

I did not have to wait long to realise this band was going to live up to it's reputation as the opening number, the ODJB's At The Jass Band Ball, was played full pelt with all of them in total sync. Right throughout the evening the band's rhythm section consisting of the excellent banjoist John Whitlock, the ever dependable drummer Ron Berry and the fine bassist Tony Mann on both string bass and tuba, drove the band along with a wonderful tempo which had the front line bouncing to the beat. It made you want to get up and bounce also, it was that contagious. It seemed to bring out the best in them as I have seldom heard Graham Trevarton play better on his trusty cornet, just occasionally changing to trumpet. Ron Milford's trombone was a delight especially when growling the blues and leader Jeremy Huggett on clarinet and tenor played some superb solos throughout the performance, which was full of punch 'n' bounce!

After that first number which set the tone for the evening, they continued with the old number Going To New Orleans followed by the Fats Waller masterpiece Ain't Misbehavin' with the vocal supplied by leader Jeremy. A rarely heard piece from 1919 followed in Blues (My Naughty Sweetie Gave To Me) with the vocal duties this time taken on by Ron Milford. The old Redwing followed this which in turn was followed by the old Walter Donaldson classic from 1927 My Blue Heaven. Tony took up the tuba on this one and included was a great solo break on tenor sax by Jeremy. The set closed out with Minnie the Mermaid (no, not the Moocher!) where Graham gave his vocal chords an airing. A great first bracket and the band then took a well deserved drinks break.

There are some bands that tend to ease off after the first interval, but not this one as they soon got back into the groove with Sidney Bechet's I Found a New Baby. They then announced a brolly parade number to the old 1925 piece Collegiate. Not a number associated with New Orleans Parade marches, but the band converted this one to the correct tempo quite well. Haven Gillespie's Whose Honey Are You? followed on then came Ada Rubin's composition Fair and Square (originally made popular by Fats Waller). Next up was a rarely played piece from 1926 called Candy Lips before the band closed out the second set with Fred Fisher's When You're Smiling.

The calling of the dreaded raffle numbers took place as usual during the second interval when the band (minus Ron Berry) fronted the bar. I thought Ron was just keen to get on with it but he had bought tickets and was too busy checking them to bother doing that! Well Ron, you're just like me, out of luck. Stick to playing drums I say.

So onto the final set which began with another brolly parade number, the old American Civil War martial piece Marching Through Georgia. The band slowed down for the next one and in real sombre style played the old Fred Meinken/Dave Ringle classic Wabash Blues. Many bands play this number medium or even fast paced, but this was real slow. Irving Berlin's 1928 smoothie Marie was played in fine form with a vocal by Ron Milford then we had Hoagy Carmichael's popular number Lazy Bones in which Graham supplied the vocal and also which had an excellent tenor solo by Jeremy. Would you believe it, a third brolly number then appeared with the Paul Barbarin 1949 composition Bourbon Street Parade. Jelly Roll Morton's Wolverine Blues (played a bit faster than the norm) preceded the final number of the evening which Sam Stept's Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone. I'm afraid that is what people will be doing though, talking about this fine band who gave us so much entertainment and enjoyment. Don't be strangers now!

See you around the gigs...

Paul


Back to top



JAZZ AT THE PALACE 2006

Having heard their debut C.D. I had no hesitation in booking the DART VALLEY STOMPERS to appear at a residential Jazz weekend in The Palace Hotel, Paignton in March 2006. They repaid my confidence with a great evening's entertainment and received a standing ovation.


Back to top



JAZZ AT THE ORANGE

Jazz At The Orange is a small intimate Jazz Club with a very knowledgeable audience who appreciate a good band. The DART VALLEY STOMPERS were tremendous on their first visit in 2006 and have been re-booked for a return visit in 2007.


Back to top



Cheddar Valley Jazz Club
Newsletter No 96
Hon Sec Richard Borley
1 Wavering Down Rise,
Shute Shelve,
Axbridge, BS26 2JJ
01934 - 733336
Dear Members,

The Dart Valley Stompers

It was the first visit of the Dart Valley Stompers to the club but their exciting performance ensured that they will return in the future.

Setting out their programme with a rousing "At the Jazz Band Ball" they moved on to "Way Back Home in Indiana" which gave the cornet player trumpeter Graham Trevarton the vocal. Leader and reeds player of class, Jeremy Huggett sang "All of Me" and the band continued with "I've Always Been in Love With You".

Hoagy Carmichael's "Lazybones" was introduced by John Whitlock's fine guitar playing before the band moved on to the classic cake walk of "At A Georgia Camp Meeting". "When You're Smiling" set the feet tapping and was followed by Graham Trevarton's vocal on the old time number "Whose Honey Are You", the band closing the set with trombonist Ron Milford in full flow on "Blues My Naughty Sweetie Gave to Me".

Fresh from their break the band launched into a spirited "Bugle Boy March", Fats Waller featured with "Ain't Misbehavin" and a change of tempo produced the much enjoyed spiritual "Lily of the Valley". A University theme was represented by the stately "Collegiate March" before the cheery tune "Going Down to New Orleans" again had the band romping along before they turned all romantic and coy in "Fair and Square in Love".

Graham Trevarton sang "Minnie the Mermaid" to great audience merriment followed by the more sombre "Just a Closer Walk With Thee". Kid Ory featured with the classic "Muskrat Ramble" before Graham Trevarton regaled the audience with many amusing verses of "Oh, I Loved Her in the Morning". Just as well the band then went into "I've Found a New Baby", and "I'm Going to Meet My Sweetie Now" before finishing up the evening with "Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone".

A hugely successful evening from a great band.




Back to top